A little bit of this, a little bit of that

Saturday found me and my 23-year-old daughter at UCLA for the LA Times annual Festival of Books.

Four hundred authors, tent after tent of books, thousands of attendees. The smell of ink and pages was everywhere. It was heady. It was hot. Probably 90 in the shade.

But I loved it.

At first I thought it was because, hey I’m an author. I fit that niche. I’m not Tom Wolfe or Joanne Harris or Mary Higgins Clark but I write books just like they do. But after just an hour of roaming the north campus in a haze of heat and bookly wonder, I began to realize who walked the pavement and lawns with me. Not authors. This wasn’t like the writers conventions and confereneces I’d been to. This place was teeming with strollers and trikes and dogs on leashes and red balloons. Families had descended upon the campus. Parents who like to read, who want their kids to grow up with that kind of adoration for books. This was a place for readers.

Very cool. Even on a hot day.

I have a little radio announcement to plug here, but after that, I’ve included a few photos of the Festival. Okay, so I don’t have pictures of the stacks of books. But you can see that in any library or bookstore. Here are pictures of the reason any of us writers write anything at all.

First, the plug: I’ll be joining Amy Hammond Hagberg on her radio show on Thursday and we’ll be talking, among other things, about my latest release, Blue Heart Blessed. It’s a call-in show, so if you want to chime in, here’s what you need to know: The 60-minute show airs live every Thursday at 12 noon Central time (1 p.m. Eastern, 11 a.m. Mountain, 10 a.m. Pacific). Callers are welcome to join the conversation and ask questions during the show by calling (347) 324-5425. You can also listen online by visiting http://www.blogtalkradio.com/godunplugged.
During the live show you can also participate in the chat room and ask questions that way. In order to join the conversation via chat, however, you’ll need to register (but Amy says it’s free and easy).

If you can’t join us live, no prob! You can listen any time by visiting the archives. Read more about the host and the discussion on Amy’s website, http://www.hesreal.com/.

Hope to “hear” you there.

And now, the photos!


Author: Susan

This post has 1 Comment

  1. kalea_kane on May 3, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Oh what fun! I would have loved to have been there! A beautiful day, and lots of books! I bet you had a great time! Thanks for posting the pictures!

    Kelly

Leave a Comment